top of page

Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design

LEED is a third-party green building certification program and the globally recognized standard for the design, construction and operation of high-performance green buildings and neighborhoods. The rating system approach focuses on efficiency and leadership to deliver the triple bottom line returns of "people, planet and profit."

Appropriate for all building types and phases, including new construction, interior fit-outs, operations and maintenance, and core and shell, LEED gives building owners and operators the tools they need to have an immediate and measurable effect on the performance of their spaces.

By promoting a whole-building approach to sustainability, LEED recognizes achievements in location and planning, sustainable site development, water savings, energy efficiency, materials selection, waste reduction, indoor environmental quality, innovative strategies and attention to priority regional issues.

Achieving LEED certification requires satisfying all prerequisites and earning a minimum number of credits. Reference guides, designed to help project teams, explain credit criteria, describe the benefits of complying with the credit and suggest approaches to achieving credit compliance.


The levels of certification generally follow these thresholds:

  • Certified: 40-49 points

  • Silver: 50-59 points      

  • Gold: 60-79 points       

  • Platinum: 80+ points   

bottom of page